…Without Passion, We’d Be Truly Dead

Red Roses 66

“Passion”.  The episode that put us on notice that Joss Whedon doesn’t play by the TV drama rules, and we love him for it.  This 17th episode of the second season is one of my favorites, and no matter how many time I watch it, I tear up when Giles finds Jenny’s lifeless body in his bed.  My heart aches for him, his grief is so tangible.  I’m actually getting choked up as I recall the scene, trying to decide what to write next.

In this episode, we see Buffy finally coming to terms with the monster Angel has become, and we see a different side a Giles:  no longer the mild-mannered geek who loves books because they’re smelly, we see a vengeful, enraged, grief-stricken bad-assed Giles as he goes after Angel.  “I wasn’t always a librarian.”

Passion yarn

The inspiration for the colorway was taken from the roses that decorate Giles’ apartment and the petals strewn up the stairs leading to his bedroom, and is named for the duet from La Boheme which is playing in the background:  “O soave fanciulla”.

I can no longer hear it performed without thinking of this episode!

Passionblog

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment