Sunnydale Yarn Club: Second Calling

For so many reasons good and bad, I am just getting around to writing a blog for the 5th Patrol of our DizzyColor Yarn Club. And for this I am truly sorry – not so much for depriving you of my dizzying (see what I did there) intellect and shiny sparkly humor, but much more for not realizing what treasures I had in my hands.

Without getting too maudlin, life events have spanked me a bit more than usual. It has been a common thing for me to just go fetal and stare at the TV once my absolutely Must Do duties of each day are done. I had no idea what was in each of those shipping envelopes that arrived every once in a while – I just tossed them in a heap in my crap er, CRAFT room.

But now that I am forced to open these envelopes and catch up before the girlies start sending out new ones for the next Patrol, it’s like Christmas. Or a birthday.

These yarns and goodies deserve celebration, for they are truly fantastic.

It’s amazing how beautiful colors and sparkly things can lift the spirits and inspire us to just quit being a mental and physical lump, to consider clicking some sticks together and create the magiks.

Let’s talk about each one, shall we? Get comfy with a glass of the finest red, and let’s see what this Patrol brought to our mailboxes.

Hyperion is 400 yards (100 grams) of SuperWash Merino, Cashmere, and Nylon (80/10/10) in a retro pastiche (you’ll think that’s funny as we glide into the next Patrol) of colors that bring to mind the 50’s decor of our second favorite vampire’s Los Angeles hotel. Don’t let this one hang around in your stash. Yes, I slay me. But you all knew this.

 

Krevlornswath of the Deathwole Clan is 400 yards (100 grams) of SuperWash Merino, Cashmere, and Nylon (80/10/10) in vivid chartreuse, magenta, and other shades of reds greens and purples that make you want to put on a suit and sing karaoke. Lorne was a special kinda guy who helped the gang bridge the gap between two dimensions – his beheading was really just not fair, ya know? But even his corpse looked rather natty as it waited in a heap to be reunited with his head.

 

Princess of Pylea is 400 yards (100 grams) of SuperWash Merino, Cashmere, and Nylon (80/10/10) in grays, blues and silvers, reminiscent of Cordy’s Princess Duds while in the alternate dimension. Shouldn’t we all have a portal we can jump through to be treated like royalty once in a while? Except for the body parts in the basement, and the torture to prove she had the Sight, it seemed like a pretty good gig…

 

The Torment that is Darla is 400 yards (100 grams) of SuperWash Merino, Cashmere, and Nylon (80/10/10) in delicate colorway of the palest greens and pinks. Damn – that girl knew how to rock a bustier. And the pastels.

 

But Wait, There’s More

The extra gifts for this Patrol are the coolest little stitch markers and angel charm to attach to our charm bracelet with all the other markers we have been collecting over the years. Don’t know about you, but they totally compel me to get off my depressed arse and start cleaning up my craft room so I can re-locate all those goodies to load up the bracelet…which I also have to find… sigh….

charm

 

Slouch – in a Good Way – Not the Slouching Toward Bethlehem Way

Rebecca Conner designed our pattern for the Patrol, the Karaoke Karma Slouch Hat. In this picture, the hat is made with the Princess of Pylea colorway – how regal!

If you haven’t already checked your Ravelry library for the pattern, it’s there, just waiting for you, like Fred waiting in Pylea, alone, lonely, waiting to be found … so GO already and check it out!

Try to Keep Up – We are Going Social!

Here’s some exciting news – DizzyColor is rocking the Social Media, yo!

 

Some Quotes from Angel

Cordelia: Are we finished?
Angel: Think so.
Cordelia: Good. Because I, for one, will be glad to see the last of this place. Gives me the heebie jeebies.
Gunn: No lie. Plus, it’s kinda got an odor to it, you notice that?
Cordelia: Seventy years of violence, mayhem, and paranoia? Bad vibes.
Angel: We’re moving in.
Cordelia: I mean, a few throw pillows — what’s not to love?

Host: Ho, ho, ho! Back up! You want me to talk to my family? On purpose?
Wesley: It’s that, or face the possibility of never getting back to our dimension.
Host: Come on, gorgeous. You can stare at yourself in my grandmother’s glass eye. Oh, and while we’re here, it’s just “Lorne,” okay? To the people of Pylea, a “host” is just one more thing to lay your eggs in.

Cordelia: In kind of a hurry to get back to the Cordelia’s-not-a-princess-dimension, aren’tcha?

Darla: Turn me back. God! I can’t bear this pounding in my chest for another instant!
Angel: It’s gift. To feel that heart beat – to know, really and for once, that you’re alive. You’re human again, Darla. You know what that means?
Darla: Of course I do. It means pain and suffering and disease and death. Look, I released you from this world once, I gave you eternal life. Now it’s time for you to return the favor.
Angel: Favor. Is that what you think? You think you did me a favor? You damned me.

This entry was posted in Extras, Installments, Pattern, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment